Working Groups

The All-Party Parliamentary Group has established four Working Groups, as there is a great deal of work to be done to support and enlarge the General Aviation sector in the UK. Each Working Group brings together experts in the field to carry out Parliamentary Inquries on behalf of the wider all-party group, and makes recommendations which can be presented to Parliament and Ministers. This might, for example, entail making submissions to Government or local authorities on relevant consultations.

The four All-Party Parliamentary Group Working Groups are as follows:


The Airfields Working Group is established to directly address issues surrounding the decline of General Aviation airfields. Sector Chair: John Gilder. Parliamentary Chair: Luke Pollard MP.


The Airspace Working Group is concerned with how UK airspace is divided up between different categories of aviation users. Sector Chair: Pete Stratten. Parliamentary Chair: Lord Kirkhope.

Tax & Regulation

The Tax & Regulations Working Group works to propose improve tax and regulations with regard to general aviation. Sector Chair: Charles Henry. Parliamentary Chair: Chris Matheson.


The Heritage Working Group’s remit is to protect the UK’s impressive aviation history and help airshows, which are the second biggest outdoor spectators’ sport, flourish. Sector Chair: Robert Pleming. Parliamentary Chair: Robert Courts MP 

STEM Jobs and Skills

The STEM Jobs and Skills Working Group educates Parliament and Government & proposes policy designed to  promote high-tech STEM throughout the UK.  Sector Chair: Karen Spencer. Parliamentary Chair: Rupa Huq MP

Engineering & Manufacturing

The Engineering and Manufacturing Working Group was established to educate Parliament and Government, carry out research and propose policy designed to further the aims of promoting Engineering and Manufacturing education.

More details about each of the Working Groups, including their Programmes of Work, can be found by clicking on each of the names above.